Home |
About Us | Servite News
email page print page small type large type


Students Recognized at Awards Assembly
Posted 03/23/2018 03:13PM

This week, Servite freshman, sophomore and junior classes came together to recognize the academic achievements as well as exemplary service demonstrated by their peers based on their performance from the first semester of this academic year.

While outstanding academic performance during the first semester of the 2017-2018 school year was awarded, honoring placements in Principal's High Honor Roll with Distinction, the Principal's High Honor Roll, and the Principal's Honor Roll, many students were also recognized for their outstanding service and performance in specific disciplines.

Principal of Servite High school, Mr. Michael Brennan and our President, Mr. Pete Bowen, were present to give out these awards and distinctions.

Special Awards:

The Doris Walker Scholarship – given to the top sophomore or junior student in CP Chemistry. This award's two recipients were Nolan Blachowski & Luis Martinez.

The Ed Quinn Memorial Scholarship – presented to the top sophomore student in HP Chemistry. This award's recipient was Matthew Martinez.

Harvard Book Award – This is awarded to a junior who displays excellence in scholarship and high character, combined with achievement in other fields. The recipient of this award, through his intelligence and achievement and achievement in a variety of areas, exemplifies Harvard's concern for excellence. This award was given to Joseph Lazo.

Princeton Book Award – This is awarded to a junior student with exceptional intellectual and academic promise along with exemplary service or extracurricular activities and outstanding personal character. This award was given to George Colaco.

Bausch & Lomb Honorary Science Award - This is awarded to a junior student with outstanding achievement in the area of Science. The recipient of the honorary automatically considered for the Bausch and Lomb Science Scholarship Program if the student is accepted and chooses to enroll at the University of Rochester. This award was given to Chase Blagden.

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Medal Award – This is awarded to a junior student who demonstrates potential for success in a rigorous academic setting and one that excels in advanced math and science courses. This award is given to Andrew Graham.

St. Michael's Book Award – The Saint Michael's Book Award for Academic Achievement with a Social Conscience recognizes outstanding students who demonstrate a commitment to volunteerism and leadership in his community service endeavors. The College's founders had a special commitment to serving others as an extension of their Catholic faith. Today, the Book Award represents just one way in which Saint Michael's fulfills its mission to better the human condition by honoring those who demonstrate the true spirit of volunteerism. This award was given to Michael Marrujo.

George Eastman Young Leaders Award – The George Eastman Young Leaders Award is awarded to a junior student who has strong leadership experiences at school and in the community, high grades in challenging courses and extensive involvement in extracurricular activities. This award was given to Samuel Young.

George Washington University Book Award – The George Washington University Book Award recognizes a junior who embodies the GW drive and spirit, specficially with their academic excellence, leadership outside of the classroom, diversity of thought, and the ability to put knowledge into action. This award was given to Richard Krebs.

The following students achieved the Highest Academic GPA's in their respective grades:

-Joseph Lazo (Class of 2019)

-Preston Paz (Class of 2020)

-Noah Andrade, Joshua Badzey, Andrew Calle, Jacob Gambino, Joseph Lutfi, Nicholas Shannon & Luke Stumpfl (Class of 2021)

The following junior students have earned the honor of Emblem of a Servite Scholar. These students have received no grade lower than an A- in all courses for four consecutive semesters. Those students are:

Liam Bui

Michael Cabrera

George Colaco

Raymond Horvatin

Joseph Lazo

Long Nguyen

Keith Ray

Ryan Saltzman

Steven Schaeffer

powered by finalsite