News Post

Coach O'Leary Named US Lacrosse Orange County Coach of the Year
Coach O'Leary Named US Lacrosse Orange County Coach of the Year

Coach O'Leary (pictured far left) with the Servite Lacrosse All-County selections at this weekend's US Lacrosse Awards Banquet

After leading the Servite Lacrosse team to the playoffs for the third consecutive year, Head Coach Tom O'Leary has been named the US Lacrosse Orange County Coach of the Year!

The Lacrosse program has experienced continual growth in Coach O'Leary's eight seasons at the helm while rising to prominence in Orange County. For the second year in a row, the Friars spent the entire season ranked in the Top 10 despite playing a national schedule that was voted one of the toughest in CIF. They earned wins over Utah's No. 2 ranked Brighton, Arizona's No. 2 ranked Salpointe and Maryland's No. 10 ranked Mount St. Joseph's in addition to sweeping Mater Dei and upsetting No. 7 seeded San Clemente on the road in the first round of the playoffs.

The Friars have continued to rewrite the Servite record books while experiencing quite a few program firsts over the last couple seasons. Last year the Friars set a new school record for most wins in a season with 13 while Hayden Rodenbeck became the first player to earn Trinity League Defensive MVP honors. Since then, he has earned Trinity League MVP and All-American recognition while Jakob Decano became the first Friar to be awarded Academic All-American.

In 2015, Servite Lacrosse sent it's first player to compete at the Division 1 level and currently sends 65% of graduates to play NCAA or MCLA Lacrosse including four Friars from the Class of 2018: Hayden Rodenbeck (NCAA D1- Utah), Jack Seals (NCAA D3- Stevenson), Zach Williams (MCLA D1- Arizona) and Lance Daniels (MCLA D1- Dominican).

In addition to his duties at Servite, Coach O'Leary also runs a successful club program, Angel City Lacrosse.

Congratulations to Coach O'Leary on receiving this distinguished recognition, the Servite community wishes you and the Friars' Lacrosse team continued success!