Main Menu

Explore More

Karlie Carlson

by Greg Biggins

Honolulu, HI (December 6, 2021) – The Polynesian Football Hall of Fame announced today that Anaheim (Calif.) Servite wide receiver Tetairoa McMillan has been selected as the 2021 recipient of the Polynesian High School Football Player of the Year Award.

“I’m incredibly honored and humbled by this award,” McMillan said. “It’s something I’ll treasure forever and it means a lot to me. When you look at some of the legends that have won this award before me, some of the names that have been thrown out, it’s incredible.

“This is really something you dream about and me being from Hawaii, I think it makes it that much more special. Hearing that my name will be on a plaque at the PCC (Polynesian Culture Center), that's just crazy for me to think about but such a huge honor.”

The Polynesian High School Football Player of the Year Award is presented annually to the most outstanding senior high school football player of Polynesian Ancestry. Current San Francisco 49ers Safety Talanoa Hufanga was selected as the inaugural recipient of the Award in 2017; BYU WR Puka Nacua & University of Maryland QB Taulia Tagovailoa were selected as co-players of the year in 2018; Clemson QB DJ Uiagalelei was selected in 2019; and Ohio State DE J.T. Tuimoloau received the award in 2020.

The 6-foot-4, 185-pound McMillan is of Hawaiian descent. He was a dominant two-way player at receiver and corner/safety this season. He led the Servite Friars in receptions (88), receiving yards (1,302) and receiving touchdowns (18).

While playing safety and corner on defense, the Oregon commit added 35 tackles and eight interceptions, two he turned for touchdowns. He was also the first player selected to the 2022 Polynesian Bowl back in October of 2020. 

“On behalf of the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Board of Directors, we congratulate Tetairoa on an amazing season,” said Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Chairman Jesse Sapolu. “He has a bright future ahead of him and we are excited to follow his journey.”

The formal presentation of the Award will be held at the 2022 Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Celebration Dinner (January 21, 2022), along with being recognized during the 2022 Polynesian Bowl (January 22, 2022).

McMillan remains committed to Oregon, despite the recent departure of former coach Mario Cristobal.

"I'm hearing from USC, Arizona and Clemson but I'm still committed to Oregon," McMillan said. "Hopefully they make a hire soon enough so I can get to know the new staff but for now, I don't plan on opening things up, I still feel good about my Oregon commitment."

About the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame: The Polynesian Football Hall of Fame honors Polynesia’s greatest players, coaches, and contributors. Its permanent home is located at the Polynesian Cultural Center and was established in 2013 by Super Bowl Champions Jesse Sapolu and Ma’a Tanuvasa. Other board members include Troy Polamalu, Vai Sikahema, June Jones and Reno

About the Polynesian Bowl: The Polynesian Bowl is held annually during the Polynesian Football Hall of Fame Enshrinement Week and is televised LIVE on CBS Sports Network. Major sponsors include adidas, BodyArmor, CrossCountry Mortgage, Friends of Hawai‘i Charities, Hawaiian Airlines, Hawai‘i Building & Construction Trades Council, Hawai‘i News Now, Hawai‘i Tourism Authority, Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel and Riddell.

  • Athletics
  • Football