Main Menu

Explore More

Karlie Carlson

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference released their all-conference teams for wrestling this morning (Mar. 24). Colorado Mesa had five wrestlers named to the team including a two of the conference's top honors.
Colorado Mesa head coach Chuck Pipher was named the RMAC Coach of the Year after leading the Mavericks to the RMAC Championship and an eighth-place finish at the NCAA National Tournament. It was the Mavericks second RMAC title under Pipher and the program's highest finish at the NCAA Tournament.
Redshirt freshman Daniel Magana was named the RMAC co-Freshman of the Year and earned all-RMAC first team at 141 pounds. Magana placed third at the NCAA Super Region VI Tournament and finished the season with a 5-4 record. Magana joins former Mavericks Payton TawaterJason Buhr and Dylan Granard as former RMAC Freshman of the Year.
Fresh off a national title, Fred Green was named to the all-RMAC team at 165 pounds. The Port Orchard, Wash. native finished his final season with a 12-1 record and earned the Mavericks second NCAA National Champion since the program was rebooted in 2006. Green was seeded second at the NCAA Super Region VI Tournament and won the title for the second straight season out of the same seed.

Cian Apple (125) and Nolan Krone (184) were named to the all-RMAC second team. Both wrestlers placed third at the NCAA Super Region VI tournament and helped the Mavericks to the RMAC Championship.
Senior Donnie Negus was named to the all-RMAC team at 197 pounds after claiming all-American honors at the NCAA Tournament after a fifth-place finish. Negus, a 2020 and 2021 NCAA National Qualifier, finished the season 12-3 record and had a winning streak of eight during the season that included a win over his only loss at the time, Joseph Reimers of Nebraska-Kearney, in the championship bout at the NCAA Super Region VI tournament.

  • Alumni
  • Athletics
  • Wrestling